The Medical Hardship Driving Permit (MHP) is authorized by Nebraska State Statute 60-4,130.01 and it allows a MHP for individuals who have forfeited their regular driving privileges under the Nebraska Point System. The MHP is valid for 90 days, at the expiration of the permit, the driver may reapply for another permit in the same manner.
This permit can be used to drive from home or place of employment to a hospital, clinic, doctor’s office, or similar location and return. It cannot be used for shopping, probationary meetings or school.
The issuance of such permit is based upon meeting all appropriate requirements and certification that the use of the vehicle is required as part of one’s medical hardship and there is no reasonable alternative means of transportation.
To be eligible for the MHP
- You must be a Nebraska resident and have tested and been issued a license in any state. Provisional Operator's Permit holders are not eligible for the MHP.
- Your driving privileges must be revoked under the Nebraska Point System.
- Meet all other applicable reinstatement requirements for any other suspension or revocation actions on your Nebraska driving record.
- Cannot have your driving privileges removed in any other state/jurisdiction.
The Director of the Department of Motor Vehicles will Revoke the Medical Hardship Driving Permit if a Driver is Convicted of a Violation for which Points are Assessed while holding this permit.
If the permit is revoked in this manner, the individual will not be eligible to receive an Employment Driving Permit for the remainder of the period of suspension or revocation.
Requirements needed for authorization of the MHP
You must submit the following requirements to the Department of Motor Vehicles, 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94877, Lincoln, NE 68509-4877 or fax to (402) 471-8288:
NOTE: Requirements cannot be submitted to your local Driver License Exam Station
- An Application For Nebraska Medical Hardship Driving Permit. A separate application must be completed for each physician.to either mail, fax or hand deliver to the address above.
- Surrender your Nebraska operator's license/permit to the DOWNTOWN LINCOLN DMV OFFICE ONLY at 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE or sign an affidavit of lost license if you no longer have possession of the license - which can be faxed to the number above. This does not apply if the license has expired.
- File Proof of Financial Responsibility (this is normally provided in the form of a SR-22 Certificate of Insurance).
- By filing with the Department of Motor Vehicles, a written certificate of insurance from any insurance company duly authorized to do business in the State of Nebraska, certifying that there is in effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the benefit of the person required to furnish the proof of financial responsibility. The certificate of insurance is identified by form SR-22. We are not permitted to accept your policy or a binder as being the proper identification of your proof of financial responsibility.
- A Bond of a Surety Company duly authorized to transact business within the State of Nebraska or a bond with at least two individual sureties who each own real estate within the State of Nebraska which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a Judge or a court of record. This said bond shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in sub-section 10 in Section 60-501 ($75,000.00).
- A Cash bond in the amount of $75,000.00 furnished by a certified check, bank draft, or money order.
- A certificate of self-insurance.
- Meet all other applicable reinstatement requirements for any other suspension or revocation actions on your driving record.
Upon receipt of the above-mentioned requirements, the application will be reviewed (the Department must meet all statutory requirements in review and evaluation of the application). If all requirements are met, the Department will send you the Medical Hardship Drive Permit Authorization letter. Once authorized, you are required to have the MHP issued:
- Present the authorization letter to a Driver License Examiner for the issuance of the MHP
- Be prepared to furnish the examiner with proof of your date of birth, identity, and two (2) documents for principal address verification.
- Complete the required data form and present to the Driver License Examiner
- Upon completion of the Examiner’s requirements, you will be provided an Issuance Certificate that you must present to the County Treasurer
- You will pay the appropriate fees to the County Treasurer who will issue the temporary document to you
Medical Hardship Permit Fees
|Type of Document||Fee||Security Surcharge||Total|
|Change of class, endorsement or restriction||$5.00||$5.00||$10.00|
Medical Hardship Drive Permit Suspension
Your MHP can be suspended for failure to maintain your SR-22 Certificate of Insurance and if there are any new suspensions or revocations placed on your record after the permit was issued.
Reinstate Medical Hardship Drive Permit Suspension
- If your permit was suspended for failure to maintain your SR-22 Certificate of Insurance – you must have your insurance company submit a new filing. If you were also required to maintain the SR-22 for a prior suspension/revocation – you will need to pay a $50.00 reinstatement fee. Payment of the reinstatement fee needs to be in the form of a cashier’s check, bank draft, money order made payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles. This office does not accept personal or business account checks.
- If your permit was suspended because a new suspension or revocation was placed on your record – you will need to meet the reinstatement requirements for the new suspension or revocation.
If the SR-22 Certificate of Insurance indicates you had insurance prior to the effective date of suspension, the reinstatement fee will not be required.
Medical Hardship Drive Permit Revocation
Your Medical Hardship Drive Permit will be revoked if you are issued a citation where points are assessed against you after the permit was issued.
Reinstatement of Medical Hardship Drive Permit Revocation
This revocation is not eligible for reinstatement or issuance of any additional Medical Hardship Permit for that particular license revocation.