## DMV PROCEDURAL BULLETIN NEBRASKA MEDICAL HARDSHIP DRIVING PERMIT

### WHAT IS THE MEDICAL HARDSHIP PERMIT?

Nebraska State Statute 60-4,130.01 authorized this permit, and it allows a Medical Hardship Driving Permit for individuals who have forfeited their regular driving privileges under the Point System. The Medical Hardship Permit would be valid for 90 days, at the expiration of the permit, the driver may reapply for another permit in the same manner.

This permit can be used to drive from home or place of employment to a hospital, clinic, doctor's office, or similar location and return. It cannot be used for shopping, probationary meetings or school.

The issuance of such permit is based upon meeting all appropriate requirements and certification that the use of the vehicle is required as part of one's medical hardship and there is no reasonable alternative means of transportation.

#### WHO IS ELIGIBLE?

**ONLY THOSE INDIVIDUALS WHOSE DRIVING PRIVILEGES HAVE BEEN REVOKED UNDER THE POINT SYSTEM ARE ELIGIBLE.** An individual, who is eligible to be reinstated on any prior suspension/revocation, must be reinstated on that suspension/revocation in order to be eligible for a Medical Hardship Driving Permit.

#### WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS?

- (1) An Application for Nebraska Medical Hardship Permit (the application can be downloaded from the Department of Motor Vehicles website <u>http://www.dmv.ne.gov</u> or can be mailed to the driver upon request. A separate application must be completed for each physician.
- (2) Contents of such application form will include: a) General application statement; b) physician affidavit, a complete affidavit describing the necessity and details of such need; d) an affidavit certifying no alternative means of transportation.
- (3) The application form must be submitted for evaluation and review. In addition, we must receive the revoked Nebraska Operator's License (if not already surrendered).
- (4) Proof of financial responsibility may be given by one of the following: a) By filing with the Department of Motor Vehicles, a written certificate of insurance from any insurance company duly authorized to do business in the State of Nebraska, certifying that there is in effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the benefit of the person required to furnish the proof of financial responsibility. The certificate of insurance is identified by form SR-22. We are not permitted to accept your policy or a binder as being the proper identification of your proof of financial responsibility. b) A Bond of a Surety Company duly authorized to transact business within the State of Nebraska or a bond with at least two individual sureties who each own real estate within the State of Nebraska which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a Judge or a court of record. This said bond shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in sub-section 10 in Section 60-501 (\$75,000.00). c) A Cash bond in the amount of \$75,000.00 furnished by a certified check or money order.

THE DIRECTOR OF THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES WILL REVOKE THE MEDICAL HARDSHIP DRIVING PERMIT OF ANY DRIVER CONVICTED OF A VIOLATION FOR WHICH POINTS ARE ASSESSED. If the permit is revoked in this manner, the individual will not be eligible to receive a Medical Hardship Driving Permit for the remainder of the period of revocation.

#### WHERE DO I APPLY AND HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE?

Send requirements to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Medical Hardship Driving Permit Program, P.O. Box 94877, Lincoln, NE 68509-4877. The Department must meet all statutory requirements in review and evaluation of the application. If requirements are met, the Medical Hardship Drive Permit Authorization letter will be issued for the driver to present to the Driver License Examiner.

**Financial Responsibility Division** 



Medical Hardship Driving Permit Program 301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94877 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4877 (402) 471-3985 Fax (402) 471-8288

A	PPL	ICATION FOR NEDRASK							
1		Items $A - E$ below must be co- listed above. If the application	on is properly	completed and you	ı are eligible, you wi	ll be sent a letter			
authorizing you to go to a Driver Examining Station to be issued the Medical Hardship Driving									
A.		Must be a Nebraska resident, have tested and been issued a license (Provisional Operator's Permit holders are not eligible for the Medical Hardship Drive Permit).							
B.	Current Nebraska Operator's License – if not already surrendered;								
C.	Properly completed <b>SR-22 Certificate of Insurance</b> from your insurance company (application, binder or insurance card will not be accepted);								
D.	D. This completed application form. You will need a separate application for each doctor you have; and,								
E.	Comply with all reinstatement requirements for any suspensions/revocations in Nebraska or any other state that prohibits you from obtaining the Medical Hardship Drive Permit.								
ΝΟΤ	<b>NOTE:</b> The Authorization Letter for Issuance of Medical Hardship Drive Permit is based upon you, the driver, meeting all conditions. If any of the above requirements are not met, you will not be issued the Authorization Letter.								
<sup>2</sup> Provide Personal Information ( <u>Please Print</u> )									
Last Name		First Name		Middle Initial	Suffix (Jr., Sr., 2 <sup>nd</sup> , 3 <sup>rd</sup> )				
Current	t Residen	tial Address (Cannot accept a mailing address of	or P.O. Box)	City	State	Zip Code			
		Date of Birth	Home	Phone Number	Social Secur	ity Number			

ADDU CATION FOR NERRACKA MERICAL MARROUND REPAIL ROUNT REVOCATION

Date of Birth			Home Phone Number	Social Security Number
Month	Day	Year		

Providing you are eligible, upon receipt of all applicable requirements, you will be sent a letter authorizing you to appear before a Driver License Examiner to obtain the Nebraska Medical Hardship Drive Permit. Authorization is based on meeting all conditions including certification that the use of a vehicle is a requirement for your medical treatment <u>and</u> there is no reasonable alternative means of transportation. The Medical Hardship Drive Permit is valid for 90 days and you must apply for renewal if still needed after the expiration date.

#### By signing this application I swear or affirm that: I certify that I will notify the Department of Motor Vehicles of change or termination of treatment. If I 3 change treatment, I must immediately contact the Department of Motor Vehicles to file a revised application in reference to my new treatment schedule in order to maintain my Medical Hardship Drive Permit privileges. I understand that my permit will not be valid until there is a properly completed application on file for my treatment. By initialing this statement, I agree and understand that failure to notify the Department Please initial of any change in my treatment will cause my Medical Hardship Driving Permit to immediately become null and void. I understand that the Director of the Department of Motor Vehicles will revoke the Medical Hardship 4 Drive Permit upon receipt of the abstract of conviction indicating that I committed an offense for which points are assessed and I will not be eligible to receive a Medical Hardship Drive Permit for the remainder of the period of revocation of my operator's license or privilege to drive. **Please initial**

Please initial By initialing this statement, I understand that if I commit any violation where points are assessed my Medical Hardship Driving Permit will be revoked.

5	Medical Inform	mation:									
Place of tre	eatment:										
Describe medical tre	the nature of yo atment:	ur									
6	Days/Hours – driving after th you submitted	ne permit h for verifica	as bee	n issue	d, law	enforc	ement	will ref			
(√	tment (please $\sqrt{\text{days re}}$ )		(√)	TIIID	(√)		(√)	SAT	(√)	CLIN	(√)
MON	TUE	WED	1	THUR		FRI		SAT		SUN	
Hours of so	cheduled treatment.	Please include	am	pm							
Return hon			am	pm							
	application you										
				Bus	Routes:						
Briefly describe other transportation options ava You must sign this applicatio				Othe the pr		ce of	a Not	tary P	ublic:		
8							State of	f			
Applicant's Signature Printed name				County of The signature of the Applicant was acknowledged before me this day of, Notary Public Signature							
								_·			
	Date:				Seal						

# <sup>9</sup> Physician's Affidavit

Your patient is making application for a Nebraska Medical Hardship Drive Permit. State law requires, as one of the
conditions for issuance for such permit, that the physician sign an affidavit swearing to the validity of the claim that
the use of a vehicle is required in traveling to and from his or her place of treatment and/or in the course of the
applicant's medical needs.

Your assistance is appreciated.

Pat	tient's (A	Applicant's) Name:							
Patient's (Applicant's) Address:			Street Address	City / S	State / Zip Co	de			
	10	Medical Facility infe	ormation						
Na	me of th	ne Medical Facility:							
Fac	cility Ad	ldress:	Street Address	ess City / State / Zip Code					
Phy	ysician'	Name / Phone number:	Name	Phone I	Number				
	I can confirm the need for my patient to drive as a condition of his/her medical needs as described below:								
1.	I can c	onfirm the need for my patient to o	drive as a condition of h	is/her medical needs.					
2.	I can confirm that treatment will not impair the applicant's ability to operate a motor vehicle. Yes No								
3.	The da	ys/hours of travel my patient listed	d in Section 6 are correc	t.		Please circle Yes No			
4.	The ro	utes/areas of travel my patient liste	ed in Section 7 are corre	ct.	_	Please circleYesNo			
You must sign the application in the presence of a Notary Public Signature below must be same as Physician's Name provided in Section 10 above. State of									
		Physician's Sign	ature	County of					
				The signature of the I this	Physician v	was acknowledged before me			
		Printed nam	e	da	ay of	,			
				Notary Public Signature					
		Date:		Seal					
NC	DTE:	The Medical Hardship D vehicle or as a commercia		t be used to op	perate a	commercial motor			