A person whose driver’s license has been revoked for fifteen years in Nebraska as part of a sentence for drunk driving under the influence third or subsequent offense may apply for a reprieve from the Board of Pardons. The application for reprieve is made to the DMV, which reviews it and forwards it to the Board of Pardons. If the Board grants a reprieve, a Nebraska resident may drive a vehicle equipped with an ignition interlock device (BAIID) after applying for an ignition interlock permit (IIP).
The Board of Pardon has stated that it will not grant a reprieve until the applicant has served seven years of the fifteen year revocation. It also requires the applicant to have been sober with a clean criminal record for seven years.
A non-resident must contact his home state to determine his driving eligibility. A reprieve in Nebraska does not mean that another state will grant driving privileges.
Eligibility for the Reprieve
The DMV reviews the application for compliance with the following criteria, which are set in statute. The applicant must:
- $100 Non-refundable Application Fee. Payment must be in the form of cash, a cashier’s check, or money order made payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles. When submitting payment, include identifying information (i.e. name, date of birth, license or social security number and current mailing address). Payment submitted by personal or business checks or not for the required amount will be returned. Payment of the application fee does not guarantee a reprieve.
- Have completed a state-certified substance abuse program and be in recovery, or show recovery without benefit of treatment.
- Submit a current substance abuse evaluation.
- Have no subsequent drunk driving convictions.
- Have no subsequent driving during revocation convictions.
- Demonstrate abstention from the consumption of alcohol and abstention from the illegal consumption of drugs for a significant period.
- Have no driver's license suspensions or revocations for any reason in this or any other state.
- The Board of Pardon’s policy requires the applicant to have seven years of the fifteen year revocation served, seven years of sobriety, and seven years of a clean criminal record.
Contact the Legal Division at the following:
Dept. Of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 94699
Lincoln, NE 68509-4699
When you receive your application, fill it out completely. All questions must be answered fully and truthfully. Any applications with unanswered questions will be returned.
The DMV will process the application and make a recommendation to the Board of Pardons. The recommendation and application is sent to the Board. This process may take several months.
Board of Pardons Hearing
The Board of Pardons may set the application for hearing. If the Board sets your case for hearing, the Board will notify you of the date and time. At the hearing, the Board of Pardons will determine whether to grant your request for reprieve of the 15 year license revocation.
The reprieve means that the 15 year license revocation remains in place, but the applicant is given the right to drive a vehicle equipped with an IIP for the remainder of the 15 years.
Non-resident: A grant of reprieve for a non-resident of Nebraska does not guarantee that the person will be able to drive in a state other than Nebraska. Driving privileges in other states depend on the laws of the other state.
To contact the legal division about any the above matters, call (402) 471-9593, or write us at PO Box 94699, Lincoln NE 68509. You may email the legal division. We do not accept any legal documents by email.