Many changes to state laws become effective July 8, 2015, that will impact holders of Commercial Driver's Licenses (CDLs) and those applying for and upgrading CDL documents.
Beginning July 8th, all individuals applying for, renewing or upgrading their CDLs will be required to provide proof of U.S. citizenship or lawful status. A list of acceptable documents can be found on the Department of Motor Vehicles website: www.dmv.nebraska .gov. Click on Driver Licensing Services and follow the menu listing for the new requirements.
Additionally, all drivers requiring any CDL skills tests (pre-trip vehicle inspection, basic control skills and road test) will be required to hold a Commercial Learner's Permit (CLP) for a minimum of 14 days prior to taking their tests. Drivers will be required to pass all written tests for the vehicle class and endorsements being desired on the CDL in order to obtain the CLP. The CLP will be valid for 180 days.
Two new CDL vehicle restrictions will go into effect on July 8th. Drivers who perform their tests in commercial vehicles with automatic transmissions will have an E restriction put on their CDL. This will restrict them from driving commercial vehicles with manual transmissions. For drivers testing in vehicles with air-over-hydraulic braking systems, a Z restriction will be placed on the CDL. This restricts drivers to only operating commercial vehicles that don't have full air brakes.
These changes will bring Nebraska into compliance with new federal regulations regarding Commercial Driver's Licenses by the required deadline. States found to be in non-compliance risk the loss of substantial Highway Trust Funds.
A complete overview of all changes going into effect on July 8th can be found on the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles website listed above.