
UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION—YEAR 2018 
To register on-line go to www.ucr.in.gov or mail the application to the 

Nebraska DMV with payment. ENFORCEMENT DATE:  April 5, 2018 
SECTION 1. GENERAL INFORMATION 

USDOT Number 

 
MC/MX/FF 

 
E-mail Address 

 
Telephone Number 

 
Fax Number 

 
Legal Name 

 
Doing Business under the Following Name (DBA) 

Principal Place of Business Street Address (See Instructions) 

 
City State Zip Code 

Mailing Address 

 
City State Zip Code 

SECTION 2. CLASSIFICATION—Check All That Apply 
 Motor Carrier        Motor Private Carrier          Broker           Leasing Company          Freight Forwarder 

SECTION 3. FEES DUE—BROKERS AND LEASING COMPANIES ONLY 
Note:  If your company is also a motor carrier or motor private carrier, skip this section and go to section 4. 

Registrants that (1) hold broker authority and are NOT motor carriers or freight forwarder, or (2) are leasing companies that do 
not hold ANY interstate operating authority from USDOT, submit the amount of $69 in the form of a Check, Cash or Money Order 
payable to Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles and go to Section 7. 

SECTION 4. MOTOR CARRIERS & FREIGHT FORWARDER—NUMBER OF VEHICLES 
Check only one box:                                                               The number of vehicles below is: 
Option A    Taken from Section 26 of last reported MCS-150/MCSA-1 form. 
Option B    The total number of vehicles owned or operated for the 12-month period ending June 30, 2017. 
                        See Instructions for additional requirements if you select Option B. 
LINE 
NO. 

 

1. The total number of Straight Truck and Tractors:  
2. Number of passenger vehicles designed to carry more than 10 People, including the driver:  
3. Add Lines 1 and 2 and enter results here:  
 
4. 

(Optional for MOTOR CARRIERS & MOTOR PRIVATE CARRIERS ONLY): Enter the number of vehicles 
that are used EXCLUSIVELY in INTRASTATE transportation or have a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating less 
than 10,000 lbs.  You are required to maintain a list of vehicles excluded under this option.  See 
Instructions for additional requirements if you select this option. 

 

5. Subtract Line 4 from line 3 enter total here:  
 
6. 

(Optional for For-Hire Motor Carriers only).You may add on this line any motor vehicle(s) you 
operate for-hire, regardless of weight, in interstate or intrastate commerce, NOT included on Line 1 
or Line 2.  This includes passenger vehicles regardless of the number of passengers. 

 

7. Add line 5 and 6 and enter results here:  
8. Grand Total — Enter amount from Line 3, Line 5, or Line 7, as applicable:  

SECTION 5. FEE TABLE 
Number of Vehicles Amount Due Number of Vehicles Amount Due Number of Vehicles Amount Due 

0-2 $69 6-20 $410 101-1,000 $6,820 
3-5 $206 21-100 $1,431 1,001 or more $66,597 

SECTION 6. FEES DUE—MOTOR CARRIER & MOTOR PRIVATE CARRIER 
Using the number of vehicles in Section 4, Line 8 above; enter the Amount Due from the table in Section 5. 
Note: Make checks payable to Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. 

$ 

SECTION 7. CERTIFICATION 
I, the undersigned, under penalty for false statement, certify that the above information is true and correct and that I am 
authorized to execute and file this document on behalf of the applicant.  (Penalty provisions subject to the laws of the registration 
state.) 
Name of Owner or Authorized Representative (Printed) 
 

Date 

Signature 
 

Title 

Revised 1/2018 Nebraska Motor Carrier Services •  P O Box 94729 • Lincoln NE  68509-4729 • 402-471-4435 
 



Instruction Sheet for UCR Carrier Registration 
 
 
 
Section 1 – General Information 

• If your principal place of business is in Nebraska, you must file your UCR in Nebraska. If your principal place of business is not in Nebraska, 
contact our office for further instruction. 

• Enter all identifying information for your company. The owner and DBA name should be identical to what is on file for your USDOT number 
(See http://safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/CompanySnapshot.aspx).  Enter the principal place of business address that serves as your headquarters and 
where your operational records are maintained or can be made available. 

Section 2 – Classification (Definitions) 
• “Motor carrier” means a person providing commercial motor vehicle transportation for compensation. 
• “Motor private carrier” means a person who provides interstate transportation of property in order to support its primary line of business. 
• “Broker” means a person other than a motor carrier, who sells or arranges for transportation by a motor carrier for compensation. 
• “Freight forwarder” means a person that arranges for truck transportation of cargo belonging to others, utilizing for-hire carriers to provide 

the actual truck transportation, and also performs or provides for assembling, consolidating, break-bulk and distribution of shipments and 
assumes responsibility for transportation from place of receipt to destination. 

• “Leasing company” means a person or company engaged in the business of leasing or renting for compensation motor vehicles they own 
without drivers to a motor carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder. 

Section 3 – Fees Due-Brokers and Leasing Companies 
• Brokers and leasing companies pay the lowest fee tier.   If your company is also a motor carrier (whether private or for-hire) you will skip this 

section of the application. 
Section 4 – No. Of Motor Vehicles – Motor Carrier & Motor Private Carrier 

• Check the appropriate box indicating where you obtained the vehicle count for the numbers you entered into the table in this section.  If you 
select Option B, and your fleet count using this method places you in a bracket with a lower fee than if you had selected Option A, you are 
required to maintain a list of vehicles covered by your UCR registration on Form UCR-2.  Form UCR-2 may be obtained at 
www.dmv.nebraska.gov/forms (Click on UCR Forms) or www.ucr.in.gov.  You only need to provide Form UCR-2 upon request from our 
office, do not submit the form with your UCR registration!     

• Line 1.  Enter the number of trucks and tractors over 10,000 pounds. 
• Line 2.  Enter the number of passenger vehicles designed for more than 10 passengers, including the driver that operated during the 12-month 

period ending June 30, 2017.  A vehicle must be included as “operated” (1) if you included it among the vehicles you operated on the last Form 
MCS-150 or MCSA-1 you filed for the US DOT number you entered at the top of this Form, or (2) if the vehicles traveled under the US DOT 
number you entered at the top of this Form during the12-month period that ended June 30, 2017.  However, vehicles you operated only under a 
short-term lease(less than 30 day) should not be included. 

• Line 3 Add lines 1 and 2 and enter the results. 
• Line 4 (Optional, FOR MOTOR CARRIERS ONLY).  You may also subtract vehicles that you included in Line 1, Column A, that you 

operate ONLY in the INTRASTATE transportation of property, waste or recyclable material.  “Intrastate” means that these vehicles never 
cross state lines or carry cargo that originates or has a destination in another state or foreign country.  Passenger vehicles may NOT be 
subtracted.  Freight Forwarders may not use this option to subtract either freight or passenger vehicles.  A vehicle registered under the 
International Registration Plan (IRP) is presumed not to be intrastate. If you use this Option, you must maintain a list of the vehicles you 
have subtracted.  Form UCR-1 is designed for that purpose.  Form UCR-1 may be obtained from your base state or online at 
www.ucr.in.gov.  Only provide Form UCR-1 upon request of your base state, DO NOT INCLUDE IT WITH YOUR UCR 
REGISTRATION. 

• Line 5.  Subtract Line 4 from Line 3 enter results.   
• Line 6. (Optional, FOR FOR-HIRE MOTOR CARRIERS ONLY).  You may add here any motor vehicles you operate for-hire, regardless 

of weight, in interstate or intrastate commerce.  This includes passenger vehicles regardless of the number of passengers. 
• Line 7.  Add lines 5 and 6 and enter results. 
• Line 8.  Grand Total.  Enter the number from line 3, line 5 or line 7 whichever is the most accurate.  If the registrant subtract no vehicles on 

line 4 and does not add any vehicles on line 6 then line 3 must be used to determine the entry on line 8.  If the registrant subtracts vehicles on 
line 4 and does not add any vehicles on line 6 then line 5 is the number that must be entered on line 8.  If the registrant does not enter any 
number on line 4 but does add more vehicles on line 6 then the number entered on line 7 must be used. 

Section 5 – Fee Table for Motor Carrier (For-Hire & Private) & Freight Forwarders 
• This table is the approved UCR fees you will pay dependent upon the number of vehicles reported in Section 4.   This fee may change from 

year to year.    
Section 6 – Fee Due for Motor Carrier (For-Hire & Private) & Freight Forwarders 

• Enter the amount due for the total number of vehicles calculated in Section 5. 
Section 7 – Certification 

• The owner or an individual who has a power of attorney to sign on behalf of the owner or owners must sign this form.  This certification 
indicates that the information is correct under penalty of perjury. 

Revised 1/2018 

 

http://safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/CompanySnapshot.aspx
http://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/forms
http://www.ucr.in.gov/
http://www.ucr.in.gov/
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