

TION

UNIFIED CARRIER REGISTRATION—YEAR 2016

To register on-line go to <u>www.ucr.in.gov</u> or mail the application to the Nebraska DMV with payment. **ENFORCEMENT DATE: January 1, 2016**

JLUII								
USDOT	Number	MC or MX Number	Freight Forwarde	r Number	Telephone Number	Fax Nur	nber	
Legal Name				E-Mail Address				
Doing Business Under the Following Name (DBA)								
Principal Place Of Business Street Address (See Instructions)								
Principal Business City Princip				incipal Business State			Zip Code	
Mailing Street Address								
Mailing	City		Mailing State	Maili			Zip Code	
SECTION 2. CLASSIFICATION— <i>Check All That Apply</i>								
Motor Carrier Motor Private Carrier Broker Leasing Company Freight Forwarder								
SECTION 3. FEES DUE—BROKERS, FREIGHT FORWARDERS AND LEASING COMPANIES ONLY								
Note: If your company is also a motor carrier or motor private carrier, skip this section and go to section 4.								
Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies (not combined with a motor carrier entity), submit the amount due of \$76.00 in the form of a Check, Cash or Money Order payable to Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles and go to Section 7.								
SECTION 4. NUMBER OF MOTOR VEHICLES—MOTOR CARRIER & MOTOR PRIVATE CARRIER								
Check only one box:								
Option A The number of vehicles shown below have been taken from Section 26 of your last reported MCS-150 or MCSA-1 form.								
Option B 📮 The number of vehicles shown below is the total number owned and operated for the 12-month period ending June 30, 2015.								
See Instructions for additional requirements if you select Option B. LINE NUMBER OF STRAIGHT TRUCKS AND TRACTORS NUMBER OF MOTOR COACHES, SCHOOL TOTAL								
LINE NO.				BUSES, MINI-BUSES, VAN AND LIMOUSINES			(COLUMN C)	
NO.			(COLUMN B)					
1.								
2.	 <u>Subtract:</u> (A) The number of vehicles on line 1 in column B above that have a vehicle capacity of 10 or less passengers, including the driver 							
							()	
	(B) (Optional) The number of vehicles on line 1 in column A above that are used exclusively in intrastate transportation.							
	You are required to maintain a list of vehicles excluded under this option. <i>See Instructions for additional requirements if you select this option.</i>							
3.	(Optional) Add a number of vehicles not shown on line 1 above that are:							
	(A) Commercial motor vehicles operating exclusively in intrastate commerce. (See instructions for definition of							
	commercial motor vehicle.) (B) Used in commerce to transport passengers or property for compensation and have a GVWR or GVW of 10,000 lbs or							
	less, or a passenger capacity of 10 or less, including the driver.							
4. Total Number of Vehicles (line 1 minus line 2 plus line 3)								
SECTION 5. FEE TABLE								
Num	ber of Vehicles	Amount Due	Number of Vehicles	Amo	unt Due N	umber of Vehicles	Amount Due	
0-2		\$76	6-20	\$	452	101-1,000	\$7,511	
3-5 \$227		21-100	\$1	,576 1	L,001 or more	\$73,346		
SECTION 6. FEES DUE—MOTOR CARRIER & MOTOR PRIVATE CARRIER								
Using the number of vehicles in Section 4, line 4 above; enter the Amount Due from the table above.							\$	
Note: Make checks payable to Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles.								
SECTION 7. CERTIFICATION								
I, the undersigned, under penalty for false statement, certify that the above information is true and correct and that I am authorized								
to execute and file this document on behalf of the applicant. (Penalty provisions subject to the laws of the registration state.)								
Name of Owner or Authorized Representative (Printed) Date								
Signature Title								

Nebraska Motor Carrier Services P O Box 94729 Lincoln NE 68509-4729 402-471-4435 or 888-622-1222

Instruction Sheet for UCR Carrier Registration

Section 1 – General Information

- If your <u>principal place of business is in Nebraska</u>, you must file your UCR in Nebraska. If your <u>principal place of business is not in Nebraska</u>, contact our office for further instruction.
- Enter all identifying information for your company. The owner and DBA name should be identical to what is on file for your USDOT number (See http://safer.fmcsa.dot.gov/CompanySnapshot.aspx). Enter the principal place of business address that serves as your headquarters and where your operational records are maintained or can be made available.

Section 2 – Classification (Definitions)

- "Motor carrier" means a person providing commercial motor vehicle transportation for compensation.
- "Motor private carrier" means a person who provides interstate transportation of property in order to support its primary line of business.
- "Broker" means a person other than a motor carrier, who sells or arranges for transportation by a motor carrier for compensation.
- "Freight forwarder" means a person that arranges for truck transportation of cargo belonging to others, utilizing for-hire carriers to provide the actual truck transportation, and also performs or provides for assembling, consolidating, break-bulk and distribution of shipments and assumes responsibility for transportation from place of receipt to destination.
- "Leasing company" means a person or company engaged in the business of leasing or renting for compensation motor vehicles they own without drivers to a motor carrier, motor private carrier, or freight forwarder.

Section 3 - Fees Due-Brokers, Freight Forwarders and Leasing Companies

• Brokers, freight forwarders and leasing companies pay the lowest fee tier (\$76.00). <u>If your company is also a motor carrier (</u>whether private or for-hire) you will skip this section of the application.

Section 4 - No. Of Motor Vehicles - Motor Carrier & Motor Private Carrier

- Check the appropriate box indicating where you obtained the vehicle count for the numbers you entered into the box in this section. If you select Option B, and your fleet count using this method places you in a bracket with a lower fee than if you had selected Option A, you are required to maintain a list of vehicles covered by your UCR registration on Form UCR-2. Form UCR-2 may be obtained at www.dmv.ne.gov/mcs/ucr.html or www.ucr.in.gov. You only need to provide Form UCR-2 upon request from our office, do not submit the form with your UCR registration!
- Line 1. In the table, enter the number of commercial motor vehicles you reported on your last MCS-150 or MCSA-1 form <u>or</u> the total number of commercial motor vehicles owned and operated for the 12-month period ending June 30 of the year immediately prior to the year for which the UCR registration is made. This table includes owned and leased vehicles (term of lease for more than 30 days). Do not include any trailer counts in Columns A, B or C. Trailers are no longer counted in determining fees under this program.
- Line 2. (A) Subtract the number of vehicles designed to transport 10 passengers or less, including the driver, that are included in Column B of Line 1. (B) (Optional) You may also subtract the number of vehicle(s) that you included in Section 4, Column A that are used exclusively in the intrastate transportation of property, waste, or recyclable material. In order to subtract a commercial motor vehicle under this option, during the UCR registration year 1) the vehicle did not or will not travel outside the state; 2) the vehicle did not or will not carry property, waste or recyclable material that originated outside the state or is destined for a location outside the state; AND 3) the vehicle was not or will not be registered under the International Registration Plan (IRP) (vehicle must not have an apportioned plate). You may not enter on this line the number of passenger carrying vehicles included in Column B that were used solely in intrastate commerce. You must maintain a list of vehicles you subtracted under this option on Form UCR-1. Form UCR-1 may be obtained at www.dmv.ne.gov/mcs/ucr.html or www.ucr.in.gov. You only need to provide Form UCR-1 upon request from our office, do not submit Form UCR-1 with your UCR registration!
- Line 3 (Optional). (A) You may add the number of owned commercial motor vehicles (straight trucks, tractors, motor coaches, school buses, mini-buses, vans or limousines) that were used exclusively in intrastate commerce if they were <u>not included</u> in Columns A or B above.
 (B) You may also include on this line the number of other self propelled vehicles used in interstate or intrastate commerce to transport passengers or property for compensation that are not defined as a commercial motor vehicle that have a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of 10,000 lbs. or less or a passenger capacity of 10 or less, including the driver.
- Line 4, Total Number of Vehicles. Total the number of vehicles shown in Column C. Use this total and go to the fee table in Section 5. Pay the amount due for your total number of vehicles.
- **Definition** "**Commercial motor vehicle**" (as defined under 49 USC Section 31101) means a self-propelled vehicle used on the highways in commerce principally to transport passengers or cargo, if the vehicle: (1) has a gross vehicle weight rating or gross vehicle weight of at least 10,001 pounds, whichever is greater; (2) is designed to transport more than 10 passengers including the driver; or (3) is used in transporting material found by the Secretary of Transportation to be hazardous under section 5103 of this title and transported in a quantity requiring placarding under regulations prescribed by the Secretary under section 5103.

Section 5 – Fee Table for Motor Carrier & Motor Private Carrier

• This table is the approved UCR fees you will pay dependent upon the number of vehicles reported in Section 4. This fee may change from year to year.

Section 6 – Fee Due for Motor Carrier & Motor Private Carrier

• Enter the amount due for the total number of vehicles calculated in Section 4.

Section 7 – Certification

• The owner or an individual who has a power of attorney to sign on behalf of the owner or owners must sign this form. This certification indicates that the information is correct under penalty of perjury.