## POINT REINSTATEMENT PROCEDURES

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY October 1, 2016



## POINT REINSTATEMENT PROCEDURES

Nebraska Law provides that whenever an individual is revoked under the Nebraska Point System, the operator's license and privilege to drive will remain revoked for a period of six (6) months or three (3) years, as stated in the enclosed letter. At the expiration of the revocation period, in order to reinstate your operating privilege, you are required to successfully complete a Driver's Education Training Course approved by the Department of Motor Vehicles, pay a \$125.00 reinstatement fee, surrender any Nebraska license/permit which has not expired, and provide and maintain for a period of three (3) years proof of financial responsibility. Failure to maintain proof of financial responsibility on file for three (3) years from the ending date of the revocation period will result in suspension of your operating privileges for an insurance cancellation. If this suspension occurs, you will again be required to furnish this office with proof of financial responsibility and pay another \$50.00 reinstatement fee. If you do not own a vehicle, no longer live in Nebraska or change insurance companies, you are still required to maintain the proof of financial responsibility for the three (3) year time period.

For your information and to make arrangements to complete the Driver's Education Training Course, you may contact any of the agencies listed on the reverse side, which are certified by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Classroom instruction (8 hours) is required.

Proof of financial responsibility may be given by any of the following:

- 1. By filing with the Department of Motor Vehicles, a written certificate of insurance from any insurance company duly authorized to do business in the State of Nebraska, certifying that there is in effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the benefit of the person required to furnish the proof of financial responsibility. Form SR-22 identifies the certificate of insurance. We are not permitted to accept your insurance policy, binder or identification card for the vehicle as being the proper indication of your proof of financial responsibility. Please allow two (2) to three (3) weeks to receive filing. Section 60-529 or 60-531
- 2. A Bond of a Surety Company duly authorized to transact business within the State of Nebraska or a bond with at least two (2) individual sureties who each own real estate within the State of Nebraska which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a Judge or a court of record. This said bond shall be condition for the payment of the amounts specified in sub-section 10 in Section 60-501. (\$75,000.00) Section 60-547 and 60-548
- 3. A Cash Bond in the amount of \$75,000.00 furnished by certified check or money order. Section 60-549
- 4. A certificate of self-insurance. Section 60-562 to 60-564

The \$125.00 reinstatement fee must be paid to Department of Motor Vehicles. Payment must be in the form of a cashier's check or money order made payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles. When submitting payment, include identifying information (i.e. name, date of birth, license or social security number and current mailing address). Payment submitted by personal or business checks and checks not equaling the amount due will be returned. **Pay online with a debit or credit card through our website at http://www.clickdmv.ne.gov/** (if using a card - an additional \$3.00 fee will be assessed at time of payment).

When the revocation period has expired and the Department is in receipt of proof of financial responsibility (referred to above), a Driver's Education Training Course certificate of completion, any Nebraska license/permit which has not expired, and the \$125.00 reinstatement fee, your operating privileges will be reinstated and a letter of Reinstatement/Clearance will be sent to you. At that time, you will need to appear before Driver Licensing Staff and take the complete test (written, vision, and drive) in order to be properly reinstated and issued a valid license. Be prepared to furnish proof of birth date and identity. Also required will be two forms of address verification.

Reinstatement requirements should be sent to the Department of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 94877, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4877.

## PHONE: (402) 471-3985 DMV WEB SITE: http://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/

REV 03/31/2015

## DRIVER EDUCATION AND TRAINING COURSES CERTIFIED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES

The agencies listed below have been certified by the Department of Motor Vehicles to offer Driver Education and Training Courses required for:

- Reinstatement of Point Revocation
- Under Age 21 Six (6) Point Accumulation
- Employment Driving Permit (completion required within 60 days of permit authorization)
- Two (2) point credit to your driving record (within limited guidelines)

Classroom instruction (8 hours) is required.

CORNHUSKER DRIVING SCHOOL	SARPY COUNTY SAFETY PROGRAM
"Driver Improvement Course" PO Box 3463 Omaha, NE 68103 Phone: 402-341-4555 Fax: 402-341-3737 Website: www.cornhuskerdriving.com	<ul> <li>"8 Hour Defensive Driving Course"</li> <li>8335 Platteview Road</li> <li>Papillion, NE 68046</li> <li>Phone: 402-593-1564</li> <li>Website: www.sarpy.com/sheriff/safetyprogram</li> </ul>
NATIONAL SAFETY COUNCIL, NEBRASKA	NEBRASKA SAFETY CENTER
"National Safety Council Defensive Driving Course" 11620 "M" Circle Omaha, NE 68137 Phone: 402-898-7361 Website: www.safenebraska.org (listed under DMV Driver License Classes)	"Advanced Driving Techniques Course" West Center, UNK Kearney, NE 68849 [Classes available in Kearney, Chadron & Alliance.] Phone: 308-865-8256 Website: www.unk.edu/drive
NEBRASKA SAFETY COUNCIL INC.	SOUTHEAST COMMUNITY COLLEGE
"National Safety Council Defensive Driving Course" "Attitudinal Dynamics of Driving" 3243 Cornhusker Hwy, Suite 10 Lincoln, NE 68504-1592 [Classes also available at other Nebraska locations. Please call below number for further information.] Phone: 402-483-2511 Website: www.nesafetycouncil.org	Attn: Continuing Education "Smart Drivers"* Lincoln Campus 8800 "O" Street, Room B-13 Lincoln, NE 68520 Phone: 402-437-2700 Website: www.southeast.edu
TRAFFIC SAFETY PLUS	ROAD-READY DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOL
3043 N 70 <sup>th</sup> Street, Suite 2 Lincoln, NE 68507 [Classes also available at other Nebraska locations. Please call below number for further information.] Phone: 402-466-0033 Website: www.trafficsafetyplus.org	<ul> <li>"Managing Time, Space and Visibility"</li> <li>2900 "O" Street, Suite L</li> <li>Lincoln, NE 68510</li> <li>Phone: 402-477-5933</li> <li>Fax: 402-477-7105</li> <li>Website: www.roadready.biz</li> </ul>
SAFE PEOPLE	CUSTOM DIESEL DRIVERS TRAINING, INC.
2811 N 81 <sup>st</sup> Street Omaha, NE 68134 [ <i>Classes also available at other locations.</i> ] Phone: 402-515-1441 Fax: 402-505-8185 Website: www.safepeople.org	<ul> <li>*8 Hour Drivers Education Training Course"</li> <li>14615 Cornhusker Road</li> <li>Omaha, NE 68138</li> <li>Phone: 402-894-1400</li> <li>Fax: 402-894-0660</li> <li>Website: www.besttruckdriverstraining.com</li> </ul>
ONE SOLUTION	
"Driver Education in Spanish" "Assessment of the Road " Rodrigo Gamboa PO BOX 5646 Grand Island, NE 68802 Phone: 308-380-5378 cell	PEV 05/10/2016