COURT CONVICTION REINSTATEMENT PROCEDURES

This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY
October 1, 2016



COURT CONVICTION REINSTATEMENT PROCEDURES

Nebraska Law provides that whenever you are convicted of a traffic violation and the judgment from the court contains an order to withdraw the operator's license and/or operating privileges of the defendant, it is the duty of the director of Department of Motor Vehicles to withdraw the operator's license and/or operating privileges for the time period ordered by the court. In addition, the director is authorized to suspend all license plates and registration certificates issued in your name only.

At the expiration of the withdrawal period, in order to reinstate your operating privileges, you are required to pay a \$125.00 reinstatement fee, surrender any Nebraska license/permit which has not expired and provide proof of financial responsibility which must be maintained for a period of three (3) years from the ending date of your withdrawal period. Failure to maintain proof of financial responsibility on file for three (3) years from the ending date of the revocation period will result in suspension of your operating privileges for an insurance cancellation. If this suspension occurs, you will again be required to furnish this office with proof of financial responsibility and pay another \$50.00 reinstatement fee. If you do not own a vehicle, no longer live in Nebraska or change insurance companies, you are still required to maintain the proof of financial responsibility for the three (3) year time period.

The Law further provides that no motor vehicle shall be or continue to be registered in the name of any person required to file proof of financial responsibility unless such motor vehicle is designated in a Certificate of Insurance (form SR-22).

Proof of financial responsibility may be given by any of the following:

- 1. By filing with Department of Motor Vehicles, a written certificate of insurance from any insurance company duly authorized to do business in the State of Nebraska, certifying that there is in effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the benefit of the person required to furnish the proof of financial responsibility. Form SR-22 identifies the certificate of insurance. We are not permitted to accept your insurance policy, binder or identification card for the vehicle as being the proper indication of your proof of financial responsibility. Section 60-529 or 60-531
- 2. A Bond of a Surety Company duly authorized to transact business within the State of Nebraska or a bond with at least two (2) individual sureties who each own real estate within the State of Nebraska which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a Judge or a court of record. This said bond shall be condition for the payment of the amounts specified in subsection 10 in Section 60-501. (\$75,000.00) Section 60-547 and 60-548
- 3. A Cash Bond in the amount of \$75,000.00 furnished by certified check or money order. Section 60-549
- 4. A certificate of self-insurance. Section 60-562 to 60-564

The \$125.00 reinstatement fee must be paid to Department of Motor Vehicles. Payment must be in the form of a cashier's check or money order made payable to the Department of Motor Vehicles. When submitting payment, include identifying information (i.e. name, date of birth, license or social security number and current mailing address). Payment submitted by personal or business checks and checks not equaling the amount due will be returned. Online payment using MasterCard, Visa or Discover is available through our website at http://www.dmv.ne.gov/.

When the withdrawal period has expired and the department is in receipt of a proof of financial responsibility (referred to above), any Nebraska license/permit, which has not expired, and the \$125.00 reinstatement fee, your operating privileges will be reinstated and a letter of Reinstatement/Clearance will be sent to you. At that time, you will need to appear before the Driver's License Examiner and take the complete test (written, vision, and drive) in order to be properly reinstated and issued a valid license.

PHONE: (402) 471-3985 DMV WEB SITE: http://www.dmv.ne.gov/