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NEBRASKA MEDICAL HARDSHIP DRIVING PERMIT 
 

WHAT IS THE MEDICAL HARDSHIP PERMIT? 
 
Nebraska State Statute 60-4,130.01 authorized this permit, and it allows a Medical Hardship Driving Permit for 
individuals who have forfeited their regular driving privileges under the Point System.  The Medical Hardship 
Permit would be valid for 90 days, at the expiration of the permit, the driver may reapply for another permit in the 
same manner. 
 
This permit can be used to drive from home or place of employment to a hospital, clinic, doctor’s office, or similar 
location and return.  It cannot be used for shopping, probationary meetings or school. 
 
The issuance of such permit is based upon meeting all appropriate requirements and certification that the use of 
the vehicle is required as part of one’s medical hardship and there is no reasonable alternative means of 
transportation.   
 
WHO IS ELIGIBLE? 
 
ONLY THOSE INDIVIDUALS WHOSE DRIVING PRIVILEGES HAVE BEEN REVOKED UNDER THE POINT SYSTEM 
ARE ELIGIBLE.  An individual, who is eligible to be reinstated on any prior suspension/revocation, must be 
reinstated on that suspension/revocation in order to be eligible for a Medical Hardship Driving Permit. 
 
WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS? 
 
(1) An Application for Nebraska Medical Hardship Permit (the application can be downloaded from the 

Department of Motor Vehicles website http://www.dmv.ne.gov or can be mailed to the driver upon request.  
A separate application must be completed for each physician. 
 

(2) Contents of such application form will include:  a) General application statement; b) physician affidavit, a 
complete affidavit describing the necessity and details of such need; d) an affidavit certifying no alternative 
means of transportation. 

 
(3) The application form must be submitted for evaluation and review.  In addition, we must receive the revoked 

Nebraska Operator’s License (if not already surrendered). 
 

(4) Proof of financial responsibility may be given by one of the following:  a) By filing with the Department of Motor 
Vehicles, a written certificate of insurance from any insurance company duly authorized to do business in the 
State of Nebraska, certifying that there is in effect a motor vehicle liability policy for the benefit of the person 
required to furnish the proof of financial responsibility.  The certificate of insurance is identified by form SR-22.  
We are not permitted to accept your policy or a binder as being the proper identification of your proof of 
financial responsibility.  b) A Bond of a Surety Company duly authorized to transact business within the State 
of Nebraska or a bond with at least two individual sureties who each own real estate within the State of 
Nebraska which real estate shall be scheduled in the bond approved by a Judge or a court of record.  This 
said bond shall be conditioned for the payment of the amounts specified in sub-section 10 in Section 60-501 
($75,000.00).  c) A Cash bond in the amount of $75,000.00 furnished by a certified check or money order. 

 
 
THE DIRECTOR OF THE DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES WILL REVOKE THE MEDICAL HARDSHIP 
DRIVING PERMIT OF ANY DRIVER CONVICTED OF A VIOLATION FOR WHICH POINTS ARE ASSESSED.  
If the permit is revoked in this manner, the individual will not be eligible to receive a Medical Hardship Driving 
Permit for the remainder of the period of revocation. 
 
WHERE DO I APPLY AND HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE? 
 
Send requirements to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Medical Hardship Driving Permit Program, P.O. Box 
94877, Lincoln, NE  68509-4877. The Department must meet all statutory requirements in review and evaluation 
of the application.  If requirements are met, the Medical Hardship Drive Permit Authorization letter will be issued 
for the driver to present to the Driver License Examiner.   
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Financial Responsibility Division 
Medical Hardship Driving Permit Program 

301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94877 
Lincoln, Nebraska  68509-4877 

(402) 471-3985  Fax (402) 471-8288 
 

APPLICATION FOR NEBRASKA MEDICAL HARDSHIP PERMIT – POINT REVOCATION 
 Items A – E below must be completed and sent to the Financial Responsibility Division at the address 

listed above.  If the application is properly completed and you are eligible, you will be sent a letter 
authorizing you to go to a Driver Examining Station to be issued the Medical Hardship Driving Permit. 

 

A. Must be a Nebraska resident, have tested and been issued a license (Provisional Operator’s Permit holders are 
not eligible for the Medical Hardship Drive Permit). 

B. Current Nebraska Operator’s License – if not already surrendered; 

C. Properly completed SR-22 Certificate of Insurance from your insurance company (application, binder or 
insurance card will not be accepted); 

D. This completed application form.  You will need a separate application for each doctor you have; and, 

E. Comply with all reinstatement requirements for any suspensions/revocations in Nebraska or any other state 
that prohibits you from obtaining the Medical Hardship Drive Permit. 

 

NOTE: 
The Authorization Letter for Issuance of Medical Hardship Drive Permit is based upon you, the 
driver, meeting all conditions.  If any of the above requirements are not met, you will not be issued 
the Authorization Letter. 

 

 Provide Personal Information (Please Print) 
Last Name First Name Middle Initial Suffix (Jr., Sr., 2nd, 3rd) 

Current Residential Address (Cannot accept a mailing address or P.O. Box)  City State Zip Code 

Date of Birth Home Phone Number Social Security Number 
Month Day Year   

 
Providing you are eligible, upon receipt of all applicable requirements, you will be sent a letter 
authorizing you to appear before a Driver License Examiner to obtain the Nebraska Medical Hardship 
Drive Permit.  Authorization is based on meeting all conditions including certification that the use of a 
vehicle is a requirement for your medical treatment and there is no reasonable alternative means of 
transportation. The Medical Hardship Drive Permit is valid for 90 days and you must apply for renewal 
if still needed after the expiration date.  
 
 

By signing this application I swear or affirm that: 
 I certify that I will notify the Department of Motor Vehicles of change or termination of treatment.  If I 

change treatment, I must immediately contact the Department of Motor Vehicles to file a revised 
application in reference to my new treatment schedule in order to maintain my Medical Hardship Drive 
Permit privileges.  I understand that my permit will not be valid until there is a properly completed 
application on file for my treatment.   

Please initial By initialing this statement, I agree and understand that failure to notify the Department 
of any change in my treatment will cause my Medical Hardship Driving Permit to 
immediately become null and void. 

 

 I understand that the Director of the Department of Motor Vehicles will revoke the Medical Hardship 
Drive Permit upon receipt of the abstract of conviction indicating that I committed an offense for which 
points are assessed and I will not be eligible to receive a Medical Hardship Drive Permit for the 
remainder of the period of revocation of my operator’s license or privilege to drive. 

Please initial By initialing this statement, I understand that if I commit any violation where points are 
assessed my Medical Hardship Driving Permit will be revoked.  
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Medical Information: 
 
Place of treatment: 
 
 

 

 
Describe the nature of your 
medical treatment: 

 

 Days/Hours – detailed information is required for your protection.  If you are stopped 
driving after the permit has been issued, law enforcement will refer to the application 
you submitted for verification of the days/hours of your treatment. 

Days of treatment (please √ days required): 

MON 
(√) 

TUE 
(√) 

WED 
(√) 

THUR 
(√) 

FRI 
(√) 

SAT 
(√) 

SUN 
(√) 

Hours of scheduled treatment.  Please include driving time: 
Leave home at:  am pm  Return home at:  am pm 
 Routes/Areas of travel - detailed information is required for your protection.  If you are 

stopped driving after the permit has been issued, law enforcement will refer to the 
application you submitted for verification of your Routes/Areas of travel. 

 

 
Briefly describe other transportation options available: 

Bus Routes:  

Other:  

You must sign this application in the presence of a Notary Public: 
  

 
 
 

Applicant’s Signature 

  
State of 

 
County of  

 
 

Printed name 

The signature of the Applicant was acknowledged before me this      
                           
                                     day of                                    ,                   . 
                                                                 

 
 
 
Date:   

Notary Public Signature 
 
 
Seal 
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 Physician’s Affidavit  

 
Your patient is making application for a Nebraska Medical Hardship Drive Permit.  State law requires, as one of the 
conditions for issuance for such permit, that the physician sign an affidavit swearing to the validity of the claim that 
the use of a vehicle is required in traveling to and from his or her place of treatment and/or in the course of the 
applicant’s medical needs. 
 
Your assistance is appreciated.   
 
Patient’s (Applicant’s) Name:  
Patient’s (Applicant’s) Address: Street Address City / State / Zip Code 

 
 Medical Facility information 
Name of the Medical Facility: 

 

Facility Address: 
Street Address City / State / Zip Code 

 
Physician’ Name / Phone number: 

Name Phone Number 

 I can confirm the need for my patient to drive as a condition of his/her 
medical needs as described below: 

1. I can confirm the need for my patient to drive as a condition of his/her medical needs. Please circle 
Yes No 

2. I can confirm that treatment will not impair the applicant’s ability to operate a motor vehicle. Please circle 
Yes No 

3. The days/hours of travel my patient listed in Section 6 are correct. Please circle 
Yes No 

4. The routes/areas of travel my patient listed in Section 7 are correct. Please circle 
Yes No 

You must sign the application in the presence of a Notary Public: 
 Signature below must be same as Physician’s Name provided in 

Section 10 above. 
 
 

Physician’s Signature 

 

 
State of 

 
County of  

 
 

Printed name 

The signature of the Physician was acknowledged before me 
this      
                           
                                    day of                                    ,                   . 
                                                                 

 
 
 
Date:   

 
Notary Public Signature 

 
Seal 

   

NOTE: The Medical Hardship Drive Permit cannot be used to operate a commercial motor 
vehicle or as a commercial driver’s license. 

 
 
 
 
 

 
APPLICATION FOR EMPLOYMENT DRIVING PERMIT REV 01/01/2012 
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