
  Revised 10/19 

Meaning (required): 

 

 

Application for 

Gold Star Family License Plates 
§60-3,122.01 

See Reverse Side for Additional Information 
 

Applicant Information 
 

Name 

 

Address 

 

City State NE Zip 

 

Email Address 

 

Daytime Phone  ( ) 
 

 

IMPORTANT:  Applicant’s name must appear on the Nebraska 

Certificate of Title or, in the event the vehicle is leased or non-

resident military, the registration of the vehicle.  Non-resident 

military must include a copy of their registration with this 

application. 

Vehicle Information 
 

VIN 

 

Make Year 

 

County of Registration Co #   

 

Title Number   

 

Current Plate # 

 

 Is vehicle leased?      Yes  No 
 

Lessor 
 

Motor vehicles, motorcycles/autocycles, trailers, semitrailers and 

cabin trailers are eligible for a Gold Star Family License Plate. 

 

If a resident of Douglas or Lancaster County, office location where plates will be picked up: ________________________ 

(SEE REVERSE FOR PICK-UP LOCATION OPTIONS) 

 $ 5.00 - Check here if you are making application for a Gold Star Numeric License Plate (you will be issued the next 

available number). 

 $40.00 - Check here if you are applying for a Gold Star Message License Plate and indicate your message choices 

below in order of preference (the first available message choice will be processed): 
 

 

 

 

 

 

  
 
 

 

As the above-named applicant I am making application for a Gold Star Family license plate.  As part of this application 

process, I am affirming that I meet the following criteria:  
 

I am the surviving spouse, an ancestor, a descendant or a sibling of a person who died while in good 

standing on active duty in the military service of the United States. 
   

 

 

Date  Signature of Motor Vehicle Owner 
 

Filing of a false application violates the provisions of the Motor Vehicle Registration Act. Any person that does so may be subject to prosecution 

and cancellation of your certificate of registration. 
 
 

Submit the completed application for approval to: 
 

Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles 

Driver and Vehicle Records Division 

P.O. Box 94789 

Lincoln, NE  68509-4789 

     

     

 

Gold Star Numeric 

Meaning (required): 

     

 

     

 Meaning (required): 

1st Choice 2nd Choice 3rd Choice 

Gold Star Message 

1HERO 
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PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 

Relationship Clarification: 

You must be: 

 a surviving spouse - whether remarried or not 

 an ancestor – including a stepparent 

 a descendant – including a stepchild 

 a foster parent or a person in loco parentis 

 sibling 
  

of a person who died while in good standing on active duty in the military service of the United States to make 

application for a Gold Star Family license plate.___________________________________________________________ 

OFFICE LOCATIONS FOR PLATE PICK-UP 
 

LANCASTER 
East      West   

625 North 46th Street    500 West “O” Street 

Lincoln, NE  68503    Lincoln, NE  68528 

 

DOUGLAS 
North   South       Midtown   Millard               Maple 

7414 N 30th St  4202 S 50th St      411 N 84th St  5730 S 144th St               15335 W Maple  

Omaha, NE  68112  Omaha, NE  68117     Omaha, NE  68114   Omaha, NE  68137      Omaha, NE  68112 

______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Vehicle Information:  Before an application can be processed, the applicant must have a Nebraska issued title on the vehicle. In the 

event the vehicle is leased, the leasing company must have obtained the Nebraska issued title in their name. Non-resident military must 

provide a copy of the vehicle’s current registration.  Applicants applying for Gold Star Family license plates on more than one vehicle 

must submit a separate application for each vehicle. 

   

Fee:  A check or money order in the appropriate amount must be included with your application or it will be returned to you 

unprocessed.  No refunds are allowed.  A $30 processing fee is assessed for all returned checks.  Gold Star Family license plate 

renewal fees are due annually in the same month as your vehicle registration.  All renewal fees are paid to your County Treasurer 

Motor Vehicle Office.  Please Note:  If new plates are registered to a vehicle in a month other than the month the vehicle’s current 

registration expires; the Gold Star Family license plate renewal fee will be required when the vehicle’s registration is due for renewal. 

Selecting a Message 

 

Be very sure that each choice listed is acceptable to you.  Your first available choice will be processed. 

Once your application has been processed, your message choice cannot be changed. 

 

◊ Maximum of 5 characters allowed including spaces.  Message is centered unless indicated otherwise. 

◊ Alpha and numeric characters only.  No punctuation marks or symbols of any kind are allowed.   

◊ Messages that conflict with present numbering system or a valid set of plates currently registered, will not be 

processed.  

◊ Messages determined by the DMV to express, connote or imply objectionable, obscene or offensive words or 

phrases will be rejected, or if already issued, recalled and cancelled. 

◊ Message availability may be checked at: https://dmv.nebraska.gov/services. Please note there is no guarantee 

when a choice shows available that it is the message the applicant will receive. 

 

Numeric License Plates 

 

Individuals ordering a Gold Star Family Numeric license plate will receive the next available number.  Requests for a specific number 

cannot be accepted. 

 

Once Application Is Approved:  After the application has been processed, an approval letter is sent to the applicant.  The letter 

indicates the approved message or the number assigned if the application was for a consecutive number plate, the date the plates will 

be available at the County Treasurer Motor Vehicle Office and telephone number to verify the Treasurer has received the plates. 

Current plates and registration must be surrendered when the Gold Star Family license plates are registered. Additional fees for 

production of the license plates and new registration will be charged. Applicant should allow 3 to 4 weeks for the plates to arrive at 

their County Treasurer Motor Vehicle Office. 


