

Executive Order 20-25 FAQ - Driver License Waiver for Nebraska Residents 72 years of Age and Older

Who is covered by Executive Order 20-25?

 All holders of a valid Nebraska Driver License who are age 72 or older, AND their license expires on or after March 1, 2020 through December 31, 2020.

How will the affected driver license holders be notified?

 Affected customers will receive a letter which is currently in the process of being printed and will be mailed during the week of June 1st.

What do drivers over the age of 72 need to do?

- Nothing, the driver license will automatically be renewed for one year from the current date of expiration.
- o Driver license holders may choose to carry a copy of this letter with them in case a query arises.

How will law enforcement know my driver license expiration date has been extended?

- The Department of Motor Vehicles computer system which law enforcement in all states use to check for expiration dates has been updated to show the new expiration date.
- In addition, a message has been sent out across the law enforcement communications network.

When should I go to a DMV office to renew my license?

- Customers should renew their license in the 90 days prior to the new expiration date of their license.
- They will receive a notice their license is due for renewal during the 90 day period prior to the expiration of their document.

What should I do if I have already renewed my license?

 There is no need to do anything. Your license is valid for the time period displayed on your license.

• Will I be issued a new license?

- No, you will not be issued a new license.
- o The DMV computer system has been updated, and that is the official record of your license.

• Does this Executive Order apply if a person did not hold a valid license on the day the Executive Order was signed?

 No – This waiver does not apply to an individual who is not eligible to drive due to a suspension, revocation, cancellation or denial.