

Legal Division

301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94699 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4699 (402) 471-9593 Fax (402) 471-4828

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES

Reprieve of Fifteen-Year License Revocation

The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) receives applications which ask the Director to make a recommendation to the Nebraska Board of Pardons for a reprieve of the fifteen-year revocation.

Completing an application for reprieve and submitting a non-refundable \$100 application fee does NOT guarantee the applicant will receive the reprieve. The Board of Pardons, which consists of the Governor, the Secretary of State, and the Attorney General decide whether or not to grant the reprieve. The Board of Pardon's policy requires the applicant to have seven years of the fifteen year revocation served, seven years of sobriety, and seven years of a clean criminal record. After you have filed the application, the process can take a year or longer before an applicant will receive a decision from the Board of Pardons.

Applicants must submit a completed application for reprieve with a non-refundable \$100 application fee. The DMV can only receive cash, cashier's check, or money orders payable to the DMV.

An applicant:

- 1. Must have a completed state-certified substance abuse treatment program or prove they have substantially recovered from the dependency on or tendency to abuse alcohol or drugs.
- 2. Must submit three affidavits from individuals that can support the applicant's sobriety (copies can be made of the one included in the application), copies of court documents showing the sentence received from the judge, and proof that court costs have been paid.
- 3. Must submit a current evaluation from a state-certified substance abuse counselor. The DMV uses the information contained in that evaluation as well as the recommendations of the evaluator in coming to a decision on whether or not to recommend a reprieve.

A reprieve only allows restricted driving privileges. A reprieve does not remove the driving under the influence conviction or revocation from the applicant's record. If the Board of Pardons grants a reprieve, a Nebraska resident will be eligible for an Ignition Interlock Permit (IIP) which is not the same as a regular driver's license. A person may only operate a motor vehicle with an ignition interlock device installed on the vehicle. An ignition interlock permit has restrictions. More information about an IIP can be found at https://www.dmv.nebraska.gov.

<u>DISCLAIMER FOR NON-RESIDENTS:</u> A grant of reprieve in Nebraska does not guarantee that you may drive where you are living now. You must contact the driver's licensing agency where you live to determine if you will be eligible for any driving privileges in that state. Whether or not the reprieve will allow you any driving privileges is a matter of the law in the state where you live.

Please contact the DMV Legal staff at 402-471-9593 for more information.